June 4, 2023

In the last 6 years, the leadership of All Nepal Football Association (ANFA) has changed three times. Before this regular change, Ganesh Thapa held the leadership of ANFA for more than two decades. After Thapa was banned for 10 years by FIFA, three of them worked in his working committee and worked in various roles. They have reached the leadership in turn. Narendra Shrestha was elected as the president and Mani Kunwar as the vice president in October 2073 for the remaining one year period after Thapa’s ban. At that time, Shrestha defeated Karma Chhiring Sherpa and became the president for the first time. In the election, his entire panel along with Sherpa won by defeating Mani Kunwar.

Pankaj Vikram Nembang, who was the senior vice-president of Sherpa’s working committee, defeated Sherpa himself to become the new president of ANFA in the election held on June 6. Change of leadership is a natural process in an active organization. It is good for the organization to see continuous change in the leadership of ANFA, which revolved around the same person until a few years ago. However, it is not easy for anyone to reach the leadership. The recent elections have shown that only those who can manage the extreme factionalism within the ANFA or who can show immediate benefits can reach the leadership of the ANFA. Sherpa is the only candidate for the chairman in the last three elections. He was successful only once.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.